One Vision

One Mission

One Voice


The Iowa Travel Industry Partners Foundation (501c3) was created for Iowa’s travel industry. The purpose of the Foundation is to support education, research, and advocacy activities for Iowa’s tourism industry.


Iowa Travel Industry Partners Foundation is a 501c3 nonprofit organization dedicated to empowering the Iowa Travel and Tourism Industry, by providing education, research, advocacy, and workforce development.


The goal of the Iowa Travel Industry Partners Foundation is to:

  • analyze, identify and fulfill the educational needs of those who are interested or engaged in the travel or destination organization industry. 
  • conduct studies and obtain and disseminate data relating to the travel industry or destination organizations and destination clients; to produce and distribute such findings.
  • engage in charitable activities, provide scholarships and other programs for leadership development and provide or facilitate donations to provide opportunities for Iowa tourism as a unified voice.


The members of the Foundation Board of Trustees oversee the work of the Foundation.

Mark Eckman, President
Council Bluffs Convention & Visitors Bureau

Nick Pfeiffer, Vice President
Think Iowa City

Lindsey James, Treasurer
Visit Mason City

Jessica Dunker, Secretary
Iowa Restaurant Association

Kim Grzywacz, Association Liaison
CIT Signature Transportation



The Foundation Board of Trustees presents a number of awards to celebrate the industry and it’s members annually. A number of new awards will be offered beginning in 2023. There is an offering of individual leader/organization awards as well as a series of awards based on population categories. The awards are voted on by the Board of Trustees of the Iowa Travel Industry Partners Foundation. All award nomination forms are currently open until April 17, 2023.

The 2023 Awards Ceremony will take place on Monday, June 12 during the iTIP Annual Meeting in Cedar Falls.


The iTIP Awards are open to all individuals, private businesses, for-profits, and nonprofit organizations offering a tourism product or service in Iowa. All entries must promote tourism to or within Iowa. Events or initiatives nominated for consideration need to have occurred between July 1, 2022, and June 30, 2023.

Please note: FY22’s award recipients are not eligible to enter in the same category in FY23. iTIP does reserve the right to move a nomination to another category if it is a better fit. 

Individual awards

JOE TAYLOR VISION AWARD: An award presented to an Iowa tourism leader whose visionary work has advanced the Iowa tourism industry beyond his or her community. One award will be presented to a candidate from either a large or medium sized community.  Nomination Form

ABBY KISLING LEADERSHIP AWARD: An award presented to an Iowa tourism leader whose exceptional work and achievements have inspired growth and success in the industry. One award will be presented to a candidate from either a medium or small sized community. Nomination Form

LEGISLATOR OF THE YEAR: An award recognizing efforts to advance tourism by one of Iowa’s elected officials. Nomination Form

iTIP PARTNER OF THE YEAR: An award recognizing a business, organization, or individual that has provided extraordinary support to iTIP in the past year. Nomination Form      

Excellence Awards

Each of the following awards will be awarded to three population categories. Population is determined from the U.S. Census Bureau.

  • Small: a city with population of 1 – 10,000
  • Medium: a city with population of 10,001 – 30,000
  • Large: population from 30,001 – 250,000 (a statewide organization is considered in the large category)

ARTS, CULTURE & HERITAGE: An award recognizing a business, organization, or destination that showcases the arts, culture, or heritage for the enhancement of the tourism experience and economic well-being of the community. Nomination Form

ONLY IN IOWA: An award recognizing what makes the state unique, noteworthy, or otherwise proud. Nomination Form

RISING STAR: An award recognizing someone new to the Iowa tourism industry within the past five years who has demonstrated leadership, commitment, and passion for the Iowa travel industry. Nomination Form

SERVICE EXCELLENCE: An award recognizing a business or organization that has achieved significant success and growth by providing exceptional customer service. Nomination Form

SUSTAINABILITY INITIATIVE: An award recognizing efforts that reduce the impact of human activity on the environment. Nomination Form